Jim Smeeding

A seasoned pharmaceutical executive who has developed and led numerous successful companies from initial funding to sale, Jim has spent over four decades in the healthcare industry gaining unparalleled expertise across applied pharmacoeconomics, clinical services design, health systems integration, managed care services, hospital pharmacy, and disease management.

Within professional organizations, Jim has served at the state, national, and global level. He is a founder of the International Society of Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research (ISPOR), which now exceeds 35,000 members with chapters in all major countries.​


Jim currently serves as an advisory board member for several healthcare companies and is President of TPG National Payor Roundtable (TPG-NPRT), which brings healthcare industry product and service offerings to managed care decision makers, including the Chief Medical Officers and Chief Pharmacy Officers of national and regional health insurers.


Jim also maintains a private consultancy practice, where his clients represent the spectrum of pharmaceutical companies, medical device companies, diagnostic testing companies, and all classes of pharmacy affairs: hospital, retail, chain, managed care, academic, and research. 


Jim has authored over 85 peer-reviewed publications, is an accomplished lecturer and presenter, and is an inventor on multiple patents in the healthcare space, including on smartphone technology to increase medication compliance. ​

In the cannabis space in particular, Jim is a founder of several cannabinoid-based drug discovery startups, and he holds a patent on pharmaceutical compositions and methods of treatment using cannabidiol.​

Professional Affiliations

  • President, TPG National Payor Roundtable

  • Founder and Past President, International Society of Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research (ISPOR)

  • Founder, Center for Pharmacoeconomic Studies, University of Texas College of Pharmacy

  • Former Executive Director, ​National Association of Specialty Pharmacy (NASP)

  • Past President, Texas Society of Hospital Pharmacists 


  • University of Texas, MBA

  • University of Buffalo, RPh